Monday, October 27, 2014

Season 33 Wrap-Up

For the fourth season in a row the Santa Fe Tigers (106-56) won the World Series in Gehrig. This time the Tigers claimed the title after defeating the Florida Spring Breakers (101-51) in six games. You could easily argue that the Tigers dominance of Gehrig the last 10 seasons, when they have won six World Series titles, has been the most impressive run by one franchise in the thirty-three season history of the world.

The Tigers, the AL top seed for the fourth season in a row, got to the World Series after beating the five seed Atlanta Swabbies (105-57) in four games in the ALDS before clinching the AL pennant by defeating the two-seed Scranton Buccos (99-63) in a seven game extra innings thriller that saw Scranton blow two one-run leads in extra innings.

The NL representative, the second seeded Florida, started their playoff run by defeating six seed Mexico City La Raza (89-73) in four games in the NLDS. The Spring Breakers then needed the full seven games to defeat the four seed Burlington Tree Huggers (86-76). The seventh game of the affair was shaping up like a win for the visiting Burlington team until the Florida bats broke out in the bottom of the 8th inning with five runs and 7 hits.

In the Series, Florida got off to a great start, winning the opening game before getting blown out in Game 2 by a 13-2 score. Florida countered by winning Game 3 but the Tigers roared back by winning the next three to claim their sixth World Series title. This is the second time Florida has fallen short of the title at the hands of the Tigers, with the last time taking place in Season 31.

Congratulations to the Santa Fe Tigers on another great run.


Of the Tigers six World Series titles, four went to 7 games. The other two went to 6 games.

This was antidrew second World Series appearance since he took over the Florida franchise in Season 28.

Santa Fe has now had 11 consecutive 100+ win seasons, dating back to season 23, and has won 6 titles during this time span. 

This is kevinbigham's sixth World Series championship in Gehrig and in Hardball Dynasty.

Season 1. San Juan Clementes (mazz993) - AL 
Season 2. Seattle Pilots (threester) - AL
Season 3. Scranton Shrutes (mookie79) - AL
Season 4. Jacksonville betelnut (cpkung) - AL
Season 5. Jacksonville betelnut (cpkung) - AL
Season 6. Wichita Wallabies (jdbkaput) - NL
Season 7. Seattle Pilots (threester) - AL
Season 8. Monterrey Pepper Jacks (tooly_mctool) - NL
Season 9. Ottawa Sundragons (sundragons) - NL
Season 10. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 11.
Monterrey Pepper Jacks (tooly_mctool) - NL
Season 12. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 13. Durham Donkeyfish (armst24) - AL
Season 14. Scranton Schrutes (mookie79) - AL
Season 15. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 16. Durham Donkeyfish (armst24) - AL
Season 17. Rochester North Stars (hypnotoad) - AL
Season 18. Atlanta Swabbies (graybeard) - AL
Season 19. Richmond big tunas (bigtuna5) - AL
Season 20. Charlotte Driskills (infamy) - AL
Season 21. Charlotte Driskills (infamy) - AL
Season 22. Fresno Mendozas (cwiddoes) - NL
Season 23. Fresno Mendozas (cwiddoes) - NL
Season 24. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 25. Kansas City Betelnuts (cpkung) - AL
Season 26. Kansas City Betelnuts (cpkung) - AL
Season 27. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 28. Ottawa Dragons (selvendar) - AL
Season 29. San Diego Magic (thedream42) - NL
Season 30. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 31. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 32. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 33. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL


AL - 23 World Series
NL- 10 World Series