Friday, January 3, 2014

Season 30 Wrap-Up

It took some  extra innings drama, but after having blown a 3-1 game World Series lead, the Santa Fe Tigers won their third World Series title in Gehrig with a base hit by Alejandro Ortiz in the bottom of the 12th inning.

When the dust settled you had to feel the disappointment coming from the Mexico City squad and GM poboyheimer. Mexico City, back in the World Series for the 1st time since season 3, had all the momentum on their side after a crazy comeback victory in Game 6. Alas, it was not meant to be for poboyheimer's boys.

Santa Fe, 121-41 in the regular season, entered the playoffs as the number 1 seed in the AL. After easily defeating the Vancouver Thunderbirds (93-69) in the ALDS, they needed 6 games to defeat the number 6 seeded Atlanta Swabbies (94-68) in the ALCS. Meanwhile, Mexico City entered the playoffs as the NL number 2 seed after having gone 97-65 in the regular season. They needed the full 5 games to defeat the 3 seed Cincinnati Redlegs (95-67) before going head-to-toe with the number 1 seeded, and defending World Series champions, San Diego Magic (103-59). Surprisingly, Mexico City dominated the Magic and claimed the NL pennant after only 5 games.

In what ended up being a World Series mostly decided by poor Bullpen performances, the La Raza's took a 1-0 game lead after scoring 4 runs on the top of the 9th inning of Game 1. The Tigers countered by scoring 2 runs in the bottom of the 8th inning on Game 2 to even out the series. Following convincing Game 3 and Game 4 wins by the Tigers in Mexico City, the La Raza scored 9 runs in Game 5 to send the series back to Santa Fe. Down 10-8 on the top of the 9th inning, Hugh Magnusson hit a Grand Slam to put La Raza ahead and send the Series to a deciding Game 7 where the Tigers managed to break through in the bottom of the 12th inning to clinch the title.

Congratulations to kevinbigham on the World Series championship and another great season!


Santa Fe has now had 8 consecutive 100+ win seasons, dating back to season 23, and has won 3 titles during this time span. 

This is kevinbigham's third World Series championship in Gehrig in Hardball Dynasty.

The AL now has a 2:1 lead on the NL on World Series titles, with the AL having won 20 times and the NL only 10.

Season 1. San Juan Clementes (mazz993) - AL 
Season 2. Seattle Pilots (threester) - AL
Season 3. Scranton Shrutes (mookie79) - AL
Season 4. Jacksonville betelnut (cpkung) - AL
Season 5. Jacksonville betelnut (cpkung) - AL
Season 6. Wichita Wallabies (jdbkaput) - NL
Season 7. Seattle Pilots (threester) - AL
Season 8. Monterrey Pepper Jacks (tooly_mctool) - NL
Season 9. Ottawa Sundragons (sundragons) - NL
Season 10. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 11.
Monterrey Pepper Jacks (tooly_mctool) - NL
Season 12. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 13. Durham Donkeyfish (armst24) - AL
Season 14. Scranton Schrutes (mookie79) - AL
Season 15. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 16. Durham Donkeyfish (armst24) - AL
Season 17. Rochester North Stars (hypnotoad) - AL
Season 18. Atlanta Swabbies (graybeard) - AL
Season 19. Richmond big tunas (bigtuna5) - AL
Season 20. Charlotte Driskills (infamy) - AL
Season 21. Charlotte Driskills (infamy) - AL
Season 22. Fresno Mendozas (cwiddoes) - NL
Season 23. Fresno Mendozas (cwiddoes) - NL
Season 24. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 25. Kansas City Betelnuts (cpkung) - AL
Season 26. Kansas City Betelnuts (cpkung) - AL
Season 27. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 28. Ottawa Dragons (selvendar) - AL
Season 29. San Diego Magic (thedream42) - NL
Season 30. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL

AL - 20 World Series
NL- 10 World Series

No comments: