Saturday, March 30, 2013

Gehrig's 100 acre wood

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Season 27 Wrap Up

For the third year in a row the World Series was decided in a Game 7, with the top-seeded AL Santa Fe Tigers (105-57) defeating the NL two seed St. Louis Jalowitzians (102-60) to claim kevinbigham's second World Series championship in Gehrig.

Santa Fe got off to a quick 2-0 lead in the Series by winning both home games, but the Jalowitzians bounced back and won the next two games in St. Louis by outscoring the Tigers 17-5. Santa Fe bounced back and stole Game 5 to give them a 3-2 Series lead. Despite a three-run lead in Game 6 at home, the Tigers gave up four runs in the top of the 7th inning and that was enough for the Jalowitzians to even up the Series at three games a piece. Unfortunately for St. Louis, Santa Fe's bats came alive in Game 7, pummeling the Jalowitzians pitchers for 19 runs and 20 hits. World Series MVP Marc Bennett (0.290 with 7 R, 11 RBI, 4 HR, and 1 SB) continued to cement himself as one of Gehrig's elite players.

Despite having a great run in the playoffs that saw St. Louis defeat the NL top-seed Fresno Mendozas to claim their second NL pennant in a row, the Jalowitzians fell again one win short of a title. Tigers GM franco8305 has assembled a strong squad and will undoubtedly have the Tigers fighting for another shot at a World Series championship soon enough.

On the other side, kevinbigham's squad has now racked up five consecutive 100+ win seasons and has shown no signs of slowing down.

Congratulations to kevinbigham on his second Gehrig World Series championship!


The last three World Series have gone to seven games.

This is kevinbigham second World Series championship in Gehrig and in Hardball Dynasty.

With his second title, kevinbigham joins cpkung (4 championships), doontristy (3 championships), threester (2 championships), armst24 (2 championships), infamy (2 championships), and cwiddoes (2 championships) the multiple World Series titles club in Gehrig.

Fifteen of the twenty-seven World Series have been won by the group listed above.

The AL now leads the NL eighteen World Series titles to nine.

Season 1. San Juan Clementes (mazz993) - AL 
Season 2. Seattle Pilots (threester) - AL
Season 3. Scranton Shrutes (mookie79) - AL
Season 4. Jacksonville betelnut (cpkung) - AL
Season 5. Jacksonville betelnut (cpkung) - AL
Season 6. Wichita Wallabies (jdbkaput) - NL
Season 7. Seattle Pilots (threester) - AL
Season 8. Monterrey Pepper Jacks (tooly_mctool) - NL
Season 9. Ottawa Sundragons (sundragons) - NL
Season 10. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 11.
Monterrey Pepper Jacks (tooly_mctool) - NL
Season 12. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 13. Durham Donkeyfish (armst24) - AL
Season 14. Scranton Schrutes (mookie79) - AL
Season 15. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 16. Durham Donkeyfish (armst24) - AL
Season 17. Rochester North Stars (hypnotoad) - AL
Season 18. Atlanta Swabbies (graybeard) - AL
Season 19. Richmond big tunas (bigtuna5) - AL
Season 20. Charlotte Driskills (infamy) - AL
Season 21. Charlotte Driskills (infamy) - AL
Season 22. Fresno Mendozas (cwiddoes) - NL
Season 23. Fresno Mendozas (cwiddoes) - NL
Season 24. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 25. Kansas City Betelnuts (cpkung) - AL
Season 26. Kansas City Betelnuts (cpkung) - AL
Season 27. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL

AL - 18 World Series
NL- 9 World Series