Monday, September 10, 2012

Season 25 Wrap-Up

In dramatic fashion, the Kansas City Betelnuts are the Gehrig World Series champions. The Betelnuts, managed by cpkung, went into the playoffs as the AL second seed needing the maximum number of games to win every one of their three playoff series.

The Betelnuts defeated the Fargo Wood Chippers in a close ALDS that was decided in a one-run game five before taking aim on the defending champions Santa Fe Tigers, a team that was coming off a 119-win regular season campaign that saw them tie the all time record for wins in Gehrig, in the ALCS. Despite the Tigers amazing talent and despite horrid pitching from Rodrigo Tavarez, who was shelled on both Game 1 and Game 7, the Betelnuts just never gave up and pulled out a win in Game 7 to represent the AL in the World Series.

Their opponent in the World Series, representing the NL for the eight consecutive season the Fresno Mendozas. The Betelnuts and Mendozas should've known this would be an interesting World Series when the Betelnuts won the first two games in Fresno, followed by the Mendozas returning the favor and winning three in a row in Kansas City. Despite needing just one more win to claim their third World Series in Gehrig, the Betelnuts jumped off to a 7-0 lead in Game 6. In the deciding Game 7, the Mendozas got a run on the bottom of the first inning. The score stayed at 1-0 until the top of the 9th inning when the Betelnuts finally got on the board before unleashing four runs in the top of the 10th inning (three of which came with two-out). The Mendozas countered with three runs in the bottom of the inning, but with the tying run on first base, the Mendozas grounded into a 4-6-3 double-play that sealed the win for the Betelnuts.

Congratulations to cpkung on his third Gehrig World Series championship!


This was the eigth World Series trip in a row for the Mendozas, and third for cpkung

This was cpkung's third World Series championship in Gehrig and in Hardball Dynasty.

The Kansas City Betelnuts franchise is 3-0 in the World Series, having won their previous two trips in seasons four and 5.

Season 1. San Juan Clementes (mazz993) - AL 
Season 2. Seattle Pilots (threester) - AL
Season 3. Scranton Shrutes (mookie79) - AL
Season 4. Jacksonville betelnut (cpkung) - AL
Season 5. Jacksonville betelnut (cpkung) - AL
Season 6. Wichita Wallabies (jdbkaput) - NL
Season 7. Seattle Pilots (threester) - AL
Season 8. Monterrey Pepper Jacks (tooly_mctool) - NL
Season 9. Ottawa Sundragons (sundragons) - NL
Season 10. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 11.
Monterrey Pepper Jacks (tooly_mctool) - NL
Season 12. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 13. Durham Donkeyfish (armst24) - AL
Season 14. Scranton Schrutes (mookie79) - AL
Season 15. San Juan Myrmidons (doontristy) - NL
Season 16. Durham Donkeyfish (armst24) - AL
Season 17. Rochester North Stars (hypnotoad) - AL
Season 18. Atlanta Swabbies (graybeard) - AL
Season 19. Richmond big tunas (bigtuna5) - AL
Season 20. Charlotte Driskills (infamy) - AL
Season 21. Charlotte Driskills (infamy) - AL
Season 22. Fresno Mendozas (cwiddoes) - NL
Season 23. Fresno Mendozas (cwiddoes) - NL
Season 24. Santa Fe Tigers (kevinbigham) - AL
Season 25. Kansas City Betelnuts (cpkung) - AL

AL - 16 World Series
NL- 9 World Series

No comments: